Project & technology diligence
Experience.
Technical diligence across solar, energy storage, and battery manufacturing.
A selection of my experience across engineering and advisory roles, with links to public project information.
- Solar PV capacity
- 21.2+ GW
- Battery storage capacity
- 15.7+ GW
- Public financing supported
- ~$19.5B
- BESS OEMs reviewed
- 18
Project and portfolio experience
Project and portfolio experience
Announced facilities and transactions
Manufacturers and system integrators
Capacity include portfolio still in development/construction, not exclusively operational capacity. Financing reflects announced amounts, including loan guarantees and tax-credit transactions.
How these figures are calculatedU.S. footprint
19 states.
And Puerto Rico.
Solar, storage, and battery manufacturing diligence across the United States.
Includes start-of-construction reviews for projects with a longer development runway ahead of potential financing.
- Alabama
- Arizona
- California
- Colorado
- Florida
- Hawaii
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Louisiana
- Massachusetts
- Mississippi
- Nevada
- New Mexico
- New York
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- Texas
- Vermont
- Virginia
Selected experience
Projects & portfolios.
36 entries, including solar, storage, and battery manufacturing. Names, locations, and ratings follow the linked public sources.
Project ratings reflect the scope and date of each source. MW measures power; MWh measures stored energy. AC and DC ratings are retained where stated. Energy values calculated from power and duration are identified by showing both.
| Project or portfolio | Location | Public capacity | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alton Post Office SolarSolar | Halifax County, Virginia | Up to 75 MW solar | |
| Bottleneck Energy Storage FacilityStorage | Central Valley, California | 80 MW / 320 MWh battery storage | |
| Bright ArrowSolar + storage | Sulphur Springs, Texas | 300 MWac solar + 100 MW / 200 MWh battery storage | |
| Bristol Energy StorageStorage | Bristol, Vermont | 3 MW / 11.44 MWh battery storage | |
| Caballero BESSStorage | Nipomo, San Luis Obispo County, California | 100 MW / 400 MWh battery storage | |
| Cherry BESSStorage | Stratford, Kings County, California | 40 MW / 160 MWh battery storage (Cherry BESS permit scope) | |
| ChestnutStorage | Kings County, California | 135 MW battery storage (CPUC nameplate rating) | |
| CO Bar ComplexSolar + storage | Arizona | Approximately 1.2 GW solar + 4.0 GWh storage across five projects | |
| Darden projectsSolar + storage | Fresno County, California | 1.15 GWac / 1.6 GWp solar + 4.6 GWh battery storage | |
| Eagle SpringsSolar + storage | Delta County, Texas | 77 MWac solar + 33 MWac battery storage with two-hour duration (66 MWh) | |
| EG Saturn I & IISolar portfolio | Near Newbern, Perry and Hale Counties, Alabama | Solar portfolio; capacity not specified in the financing report | |
| Emily SolarSolar | Clark and Cumberland Counties, Illinois | Approximately 274 MW solar (273.6 MW in the announcement) | |
| Escalante Solar & Golden Triangle IISolar + storage | McKinley County, New Mexico; Lowndes County, Mississippi | Escalante: 200 MWac solar. Golden Triangle II: 150 MWac solar + 50 MW / 200 MWh storage | |
| Foxglove SolarSolar | Frederick County, Virginia | 75 MWac solar | |
| Golden Triangle ISolar + storage | Lowndes County, Mississippi | 200 MWac solar + 50 MW / 200 MWh battery storage | |
| Grape Solar and Energy StorageSolar + storage | Westlands Solar Park, San Joaquin Valley, California | 246.4 MWac solar + 150 MWac / 600 MWh battery storage | |
| Houston BESS projectStorage | Houston, Texas | 9.96 MW / 22.4 MWh battery storage | |
| Kitt Solar and Energy StorageSolar + storage | Eloy, Pinal County, Arizona | 100 MWac / 130 MWdc solar + 400 MWh battery storage | |
| Lupinus 1Solar + storage | Franklin County, Texas | 161.5 MWac solar + 82 MWac battery storage with two-hour duration (164 MWh) | |
| Lupinus 2Solar + storage | Franklin County, Texas | 241 MWac solar + 121.5 MWac battery storage with two-hour duration (243 MWh) | |
| Mesquite 4Solar + storage | Arizona | 52.5 MWac solar + 10 MW / 40 MWh battery storage | |
| Northern OrchardSolar + storage | Kern County, California | 150 MWac solar + 92 MW / 368 MWh planned storage in the December 2024 announcement | |
| Optimist Solar + StorageSolar + storage | Clay County, Mississippi | 200 MWac solar + 50 MW battery storage with four-hour duration (200 MWh) | |
| Patchogue Energy StorageStorage | Brookhaven, Long Island, New York | 12 MWh battery storage | |
| Pattern Puerto Rico / Amanecer portfolioStorage portfolio | Arecibo and Santa Isabel, Puerto Rico | 220 MW battery storage across two sites; MWh not stated in the announcement | |
| Ponce Energy StorageStorage | Ponce, Puerto Rico | 25 MW / 100 MWh battery storage | |
| Quail RanchSolar + storage | Outside Albuquerque, New Mexico | 128 MW solar + 400 MWh storage | |
| Roadrunner / Apache Solar IISolar + storage | Arizona | 290 MW solar + 940 MWh storage | |
| San Luis West Solar + StorageSolar + storage | Fresno County, California | 125 MWac / 153 MWdc solar + 31 MW / 125 MWh storage | |
| Soltage solar & storage portfolioDevelopment portfolio | United States | Facility supports the next 250 MW of projects from a development pipeline exceeding 2 GW | |
| StarPlus EnergyBattery manufacturing | Kokomo, Indiana | Lithium-ion battery cell and module manufacturing; up to two plants. Approximately 67 GWh annual production at full capacity | |
| Stoneridge SolarSolar + storage | Milam County, Texas | 200 MW solar + 100 MW / 200 MWh battery storage | |
| Viejas MicrogridSolar + storage | Viejas tribal lands near Alpine, California | 15 MW solar + 70 MWh long-duration battery storage | |
| Westlands Solar BlueSolar + storage | Westlands Solar Park, California | 250 MW solar + 225 MW battery storage | |
| Whistling DuckSolar | Levy County, Florida | 96 MWdc solar | |
| Yabucoa SolarSolar + storage | Yabucoa, Puerto Rico | 32.1 MWac solar + 14.45 MW / 4.76 MWh integrated storage; proposed 50 MW / 200 MWh standalone expansion |
Scope & sources
Behind the figures.
Experience inventory: September 17, 2026. Project review and scope corrections: October 8, 2026.
Capacity, technology reviews, and geographic coverage
The capacity totals describe work across individual projects and additional development portfolios, including projects not listed in this public selection. Repeated project records are counted once. They are experience measures, not commissioned capacity or a sum of the public directory.
- Solar PV
- 21,215.56 MW recorded; displayed as 21.2+ GW.
- Battery storage
- 15,725.7 MW recorded; displayed as 15.7+ GW.
1 GW equals 1,000 MW. Headline capacities are rounded down to the nearest 0.1 GW.
Totals include 15,500 MW of additional solar portfolio experience and 10,800 MW of additional storage portfolio experience, confirmed as non-overlapping. Mesquite is limited to the reviewed Mesquite 4 scope. Unresolved supplementary microgrid power figures are excluded.
MW values retain the inventory’s reporting basis; the solar total is not a normalized MWac or MWdc rating. Manufacturing output and MWh storage ratings are not added to these MW totals.
The OEM count represents distinct battery manufacturers and system integrators across project and technology diligence. Multiple products from the same organization count once.
The map uses recorded locations with confirmed corrections for Viejas in California and StarPlus Energy in Indiana. It also includes confirmed start-of-construction diligence in Hawaii, Nevada, Louisiana, Iowa, and Colorado. These geographic additions do not add capacity or financing amounts to the totals. Puerto Rico is included as a territory. No locations are inferred for portfolios without a state breakdown.
Map boundaries: U.S. Atlas, derived from U.S. Census Bureau cartographic boundaries.
Public financing: amounts and counting method
The selected announcements total approximately $19.5 billion. This measures the announced size of financing supported through technical diligence, including facilities, commitments, guarantees, and tax-credit proceeds. It does not represent cash disbursed, net investment, or capital personally raised.
Each shared package is counted once. Construction loans are not added again when they convert to term loans. Darden’s tax-equity and tax-credit purchase commitments are not added to the construction debt containing their related bridge loans. Expected future tax equity is excluded.
- StarPlus Energy$7.54 billion
DOE loan announcement, including capitalized interest.
- Darden projects$4.95 billion
Construction debt facility, including bridge loans and letters of credit. Separate tax equity and tax-credit purchase amounts are not added.
- CO Bar Complex$2.6 billion
Approximately $2.6 billion of debt financing commitments. Future term debt and expected tax equity are not added.
- Eagle Springs, Lupinus 1 & Lupinus 2$901 million
One shared portfolio facility, counted once across the three projects.
- Grape Solar and Energy Storage$600 million
Approximately $600 million construction financing facility, including bridge and letter-of-credit components.
- Roadrunner$550 million
Construction financing. The conversion to term debt is not added again.
- Pattern Puerto Rico / Amanecer$489 million
DOE loan for the two-site portfolio, counted once.
- Golden Triangle I$344 million
Construction and term loan facility, counted once.
- Escalante & Golden Triangle II$317 million
Shared tax-equity package, counted once across both projects.
- Kitt Solar and Energy Storage$300 million
Announcement exceeds $300 million; $300 million used in this subtotal.
- Soltage portfolio$260 million
Construction and term debt facility, counted once.
- Quail Ranch$243 million
Construction financing commitments; expected term-debt conversion and tax equity not added.
- EG Saturn I & II$221 million
Approximately $221 million in recorded financing, as reported by the Perry County Herald.
- Viejas Microgrid$72.8 million
DOE partial loan guarantee.
- Whistling Duck$65 million
Project-specific tax-equity allocation; the wider $265 million package is not counted.
- Bottleneck$46.7 million
Approximately $46.7 million net proceeds from an investment-tax-credit transfer.
Excluded from the headline: the unallocated $584.5 million Convergent and $530 million-plus Wheatland/Optimist portfolio facilities; Yabucoa’s conditional commitment of up to $133.6 million; and transactions without a disclosed amount. The directory links to these sources where relevant.
Discuss your project.
Independent engineering, owner’s engineering, bankability reviews, and technical advisory through VDE Americas.